Why I’m Blogging

19 Aug

Welcome, friends! 

The purpose of this blog is to document and share the journey on which Josh and I have recently embarked: starting our family through adoption. It has taken me several months to pep-talk myself into starting this blog. I definitely have lots to talk about and I’m eager to share this experience with others, but I have a love/hate relationship with blogging. These days it seems like everyone has a blog, and never have there been so many people with so little to say, saying so much. I have no desire to join that crowd, informing the uninterested world around me about the details of my personal life. BUT, I also know that a blog is one of the best ways to keep family and friends updated on this process. Our first born is not going to be growing in my womb. I won’t have an ultrasound picture or photographs of my growing belly each month. I won’t have the pregnancy test with the little pink plus sign or the stories about how nausea and a missed menstrual cycle were my first indicators of this new life growing inside.  For these reasons and many others, I want to keep a tangible, detailed record of our adoption so that someday my child can look back and trace every step the brought us together as a family.  I’ll close this blog with a quote from an amazing book I just completed on adoption:

“Just remember that having children, regardless of whether they come into your family through birth, high-tech infertility treatment, domestic adoption, or international adoption, is a leap of faith; you will never have all the information you want until you hold your child, and then all the fact in the world are irrelevant.”
–Dawn Davenport, The Complete Book of International Adoption

2 Responses to “Why I’m Blogging”

  1. Erin Gwynne August 19, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    I’m glad you’re back to blogging, Anna. The journey you and Josh are on is a life-changing one, both for you guys and your child. I can’t wait to see how God continues to work in your lives through this.

    BTW–Have you read “Adopted for Life” by Russell Moore? I’ve heard a few people mention it recently, and it sounds like a good read.

    • jatimmer August 21, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

      Hey Erin! Yes I have read that book and it’s exceptional. It was the first adoption book I read. I highly recommend it for anyone, even those who aren’t seriously considering adoption, because the author paralells adopting orphans with how God has adopted us into Him family. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

